I Heart Cupcakes

Cupcake

This is the Cupcake recipe I've been using for a while, I baked these ones a few weeks ago but it's taken me a while to put the pictures and recipes up (sorry!).  Cupcakes are one of my favourite things to make, probably because you can get away with being amazingly over-the-top and girly when decorating them!  However I am still in search of the perfect recipe as I think this one doesn't taste cupcakey enough? Does that make sense? What I mean is that they taste too much like fairy cakes, they don't have that cupcakey taste, God I sound crazy!! So anyway, I'm going to scout down some more recipes and try them, I'll put them all up here as I go and give my verdict.  If anyone knows of any good recipes please let me know! It would be much appreciated! I am also very tempted to buy the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook!! 


INGREDIENTS

(for 20 small or 12 large cupcakes-I personally like large ones baked in a Muffin tin)

  • 250g Unsalted Butter
  • 250g Caster Sugar
  • 250g Self-raising flour
  • 4 eggs
  • cupcake cases, muffin or cake tin

ICING

  • 200g unsalted butter
  • 200g icing sugar
  • rose water to flavour (optional)
  • red food colouring (optional)

TO MAKE & BAKE

  • Preheat oven to 170 'C (150-160'C for fan assisted)
  • Cream butter and sugar in large bowl until white and fluffy
  • Beats all eggs in a cup
  • Slowly add eggs into mixture whilst folding in flour
  • When thoroughly mixed fill you cupcake cases
  • Bake for 20 minutes

(as you can see it is all rather simple)

  • Once removed from oven leave to cool on wire rack
  • For the icing, beat the butter and sugar together until smooth
  • Add flavouring and colouring as you wish
  • Decorate your lovely cupcakes as you wish
  • I like to use sprinkles, crystallised rose petals and many other little treats

Cupcake1

Cupcake2 

Cupcake_centre

Miss English Rose

xxx

Explore posts in the same categories: Recipes

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “I Heart Cupcakes”


Leave a Reply

